Ouch!

Okay, I’m 40 miles into this adventure and I can’t tell a lie. My bottom (PG friendly page people) hurts and it’s getting very cold here in the Pacific NW. Being so close to home, the temptation is strong to just turn around and get back to a nice warm home! That won’t happen, but don’t you dare think that the thought doesn’t cross my mind every few seconds. As of right now, I know it will take me a couple weeks to get into a daily routine and feel comfortable. Not only for my muscles to feel better, but also for the fear of the elements to subside a bit. I figure things should begin to get better about half way across Nevada.

Towards the end of October I hope to be in good enough shape to ride at least 100 miles per day. Is this possible? For a younger person or seasoned athlete, absolutely! For this old tubby walker…highly questionable. I want to make this journey interesting and done in such a manner, that people are inspired to tell their friends! Perspiration to Inspiration! :)

I took lots of pictures on the walk. I’m sad to say that until this gets a bit easier, the camera is going to stay locked up in my waterproof bike-bags. Am I being lazy? Kind of, but if you aren’t used to getting in/out of biking cleats…you don’t want to get out unless you absolutely have to. Stop signs are my enemy!

In a little over a couple weeks, I plan to make it as far as Las Vegas. Once I get to Vegas, this cat is going to head SE to Phoenix, and attempt to hug the southern most border of the U.S. for the rest of the trip. Decent whether is predicted for riding and even camping (when needed).

Speaking of camping, I have had enough of that stuff for awhile! Once out of the NW weather, I hope to spend as many nights with friends, couchsurfing host, or even friends/connections from all of you following my journey. The object of the ride is to inspire YOU to tell your friends about ‘My Long Walk Home’. NOT to torture myself any more then I already am! :)

Okay, that is enough for today. Tomorrow I will be putting 50 miles on the odometer and more soreness on the muscles. I think this is where somebody writes “No Pain No Gain”? This is also where that same person gets run over by 400lbs of Jackmo & Cannondale .

Jackmo

PS. As soon as I get the graphics, I will be sure to post the information on Kirkland Bicycles at the bottom of each post. Remember, they have donated 100% of all my gear towards the journey!! If any of you are thinking about purchasing a bike or accessories this year, please go to http://www.kirklandbikes.com/ and ask for Josh! :)

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by john w. hibbard on October 18, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    jackmo.

    this is jackhi. i aspire to do the cross usa walk. west to east. i have ridden long stretches across the nation on my ten speed in the late 70s.

    i will give kirkland a shot as i am looking for a solid used bike.

    when i rode in washington and midwest in the 70s my best day was 180. erie to toledo.

    more power to ya.

    while on detroit to arkansas ride i had to replace my saddle after the first 400 miles. in bloomington IN from the breaking away flick of that era. sore ass. blisters.

    had great times in ft wayne and indy.

    jackhi

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jaime Manalo on October 19, 2010 at 4:17 am

    Aww, Jack…I feel for you. This time of year is not the best for travelling in a car, I can’t imagine doing it on a bike! My grandma and mom live in Reno, NV. I don’t know if you are going to stop there but you are welcome to stay w/my grandma. She loves company. Reno has been pretty darn cold and rainy lately. I hope it gets better by the time you get there. Let me know if you will be in Reno. She has an extra bed you can sleep on. Stay Safe! Happy travels!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

