Day 38 – Perfect Day for a Walk

Okay, I know that I have said a few times that the walking conditions were close to perfect. Well, today was the perfect walking day from beginning to end! To qualify, the check-list would include:

  • Sleep in – Check
  • Temperatures in the 70’s – Check
  • Humidity Low – Check
  • Sky Overcast – Check
  • Gas stations every 15-miles – Check
  • Slight Rolling Hills – Check
  • Wide Highway Shoulder – Check
  • Shoes NEW – Check
  • Super 8 Motel Donated – Check
  • Taco Bell next to Motel – Check
  • Newspaper Interview – Check

Approximately half way through my walk, I was stopped by Wendy Whitehurst and her NAPA Autoparts truck. Wendy had passed me several times during the day and just had to find out what in the world I was doing. She asked if I was a doctor for Childrens Hospital? I paused…as I hadn’t been asked that before. I never thought about becoming a doctor. No matter, I was pretty sure I was going to need a doctor when this thing is all through. After providing Wendy with my web address, we said our goodbyes.

At the 18-mile mark I stopped to take a break on the edge of somebody’s property. As luck would have it, about 5 minutes after I sat down, the owner of said property pulled up. Her name was Melissa Glore and she gave permission to rest the dogs for a bit. Whew! We spoke briefly and then she drove to her house down the long driveway. Only a few minutes later, Melissa drove back and gave $20 to Children’s  Hospital. After arriving home, she told her husband about my walk and they immediately decided to donate. Thank you Gore family!

About three miles outside of town I saw a guy on the side of the road in the distance. As I got closer, I noticed that he was taking pictures of me walking towards him. It was the editor of the local paper and he wanted to get some ‘Action’ shots before our interview that evening. After taking the pictures, we set a plan to meet in the motel lobby.

As you know, I have stayed at many motels along the walk so far. While never expected, I always try to get a discount on the room when possible. Most of the motels will usually budge a little, and some insist full retail (Farmington Super 8). Then…there is the unexpected 100% donation from the Super 8 motel in Potosi, MO. The Manager, Rebekah Boring, comped the room and even added herself to the Facebook page. The generosity was only exceeded by the cleanliness and quality of the room. Upon entering the room, I was greeted by light music and a fresh scent in the room. You would have thought I was staying at a much more expensive motel.

If you ever go through Potosi, MO, please be sure to stay at the Super 8!

The interview in the lobby of the Super 8 was relatively painless. Neil, the Editor, was very kind and asked me a typical list of questions. After the interview, Neil and I talked about the Newspaper business and how economic changes have impacted his business. Unlike other regions where the move is towards an online version, Potosi has moved towards a paper-only version.

It’s now time for some Chile-Cheese Burritos from the areas finest Mexican eatery. Yo Quiero Taco Bell!!!!!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Blake & Ricki Dowen on June 8, 2010 at 11:40 am

    Blake is shipping your stuff today ,Should be zippfizz and protein bars.Keep safe our friend:)
    R&B

    Reply

  2. Posted by Vicki Rubenacker on June 8, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    Glad you got new shoes. How’s that knee doing? Sounds like good people everywhere.. It’s fun keeping up with you on here.
    Our prayers are still with you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

