Day 48 – A walk through history

To be honest, the walk today would be boring for my blog readers. I felt like crap, it was Hot (duh), and I had to put in 21 miles. Most of the walk was on Hwy 291 and filled with intermittent urban areas. When ever I had a chance to stop in a McDonald’s or someplace with an Air-Conditioner…I did.

After walking, I found out that Independence, MO was filled with some pretty cool historical significance. Did you know that Independence was the home of our 33rd President, Henry Truman? For a President that had to deal with WWII, The Korean War, and the Cold-War, I’m sure his library is a good place to visit.

The Truman Presidential Library

After a little reading, I learned that Independence has a significant history of Joseph Smith and the The Latter-Day Saints. I won’t pretend to know the history, but if any of my Mormon friends would like to share, please do! 🙂

Mormon Visitors Center

Before crossing over into Liberty, MO, I did see a bunch of trucks entering into a side of one of the many large rock hillsides. Curios, I asked some people in Liberty. It turns out that the area is filled with over 24 very large underground caves in the area. After further research, I found out that many were old Lime mines that were converted to storage facilities during the cold-war. After the cold war, they have become underground industrial parks, housing 1000’s of businesses and millions of square feet.

You can read more about it here: http://www.rte50.com/missouri

Underground Subtropolis

Not much else to mention today. After arriving to Liberty, I wasn’t feeling great, but I knew that a big pizza dinner could probably solve that. After stuffing my stomach and doing some laundry…I fell asleep.

As you can assume, no blog writing happened tonight either. 😦

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by joe and geri haman on June 20, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    hey jack
    just wanted to check in with you and tell you to hang in there.
    man, sounds like its been pretty rough at times, but iam sure you were expecting that.
    also want you to have a happy fathers day.
    hope to see you after this walk is over for you. take care!!!!
    geri

    Reply

Leave a Reply

